carrier image

Aframework for the generation of high-order curvilinear hybrid meshes for CFD simulations

Turner, Michael, David Moxey, Joaquim Peiro, Mark Gammon, Claire Pollard, Henry Bucklow

Proceedings, 26th International Meshing Roundtable, Elsevier, Science Direct, September 18-21 2017

INTERNATIONAL
MESHING
ROUNTABLE

26th International Meshing Roundtable
Barcelona, Spain
September 18-21, 2017

Michael Turner, Imperial College London, GB, m.turner14@imperial.ac.uk
David Moxey, University of Exeter, GB, d.moxey@imperial.ac.uk
Joaquim Peiro, Imperial College London, GB, j.peiro@imperial.ac.uk
Mark Gammon, ITI Global, Cambridge, GB, Mark.Gammon@iti-global.com
Claire Pollard, ITI Global, Cambridge, GB, Claire.Pollard@iti-global.com
Henry Bucklow, ITI Global, Cambridge, GB, Henry.Bucklow@iti-global.com

Abstract
We present a pipeline of state-of-the-art techniques for the generation of high-order meshes that contain highly stretched elements in viscous boundary layers, and are suitable for flow simulations at high Reynolds numbers. The pipeline uses CADfix to generate a medial object based decomposition of the domain into partitions, which wrap the wall boundaries in an O-type topology, and to subsequently generate a hybrid straight-sided (or linear) mesh. A high-order mesh is then generated a posteriori using NekMesh, a high-order mesh generator within the Nektar++ framework. During the high-order mesh generation process, the CAD definition of the domain is interrogated; we describe the process for integrating the CADfix API as an alternative backend geometry engine for NekMesh, and discuss some of the implementation issues encountered. Finally, we illustrate the methodology using three geometries of increasing complexity: a wing tip, a simplified landing gear and an aircraft in cruise configuration.

Download Full Paper (PDF)


Contact author(s) or publisher for availability and copyright information on above referenced article